Bra Fit

This is a bit of a departure from my usual posts, but how a bra fits is more important than what it looks like, so I would like to share a couple of resources for determining your proper size and checking how it fits.

Samantha’s blog post about bra fit is a no nonsense discussion with lots of good information. Warning- she uses strong language.

Here is a great YouTube video about bra fitting. Excellent help for understanding what a proper fit looks like.

Bra fitting

There is lots of information to be found on the web. Some of it is worthwhile, others not so much. Some additional resources can be found on my bra fit page.

One thought on “Bra Fit

  1. OK, holy shit, I didn’t know I was supposed to start with the bra on the loosest hook. I was taught (by my mother, who, as it turns out, has been wrong about many things) that when you buy a new bra, you try it on and you hook it on the TIGHTEST HOOK and if it fits OK like that, that’s how you know it fits well. According to her, you war the bra tight most of the time, and then wear it on the middle hook or the loosest hook if needed when you have PMS and your breasts are swollen. I’ve been wearing bras since I was ten years old (when I got my first under wire bra, a size 36 C) and I’m now 38 years old, and while I’ve lost and gained and lost (and gained some back again, dammit!) a lot of weight over the years, and my band and cup sizes have shifted some, it turns out I’ve been wearing my bras wrong for 28 years. No wonder I’ve always felt rather squished in and stuffed in like a sausage.

Leave a Reply

